NZ Beer Awards winners revealed

NZ Beer Awards winners revealed

The New Zealand Beer Awards 2023 winners have been announced, at a gala dinner held in Christchurch on Saturday 5 August.

The big winners on the evening included 8 Wired Brewing who took out both of the top gongs – Overall Champion New Zealand Brewery Trophy as well as the Champion New Zealand Beer, with their Wild Feijoa 2022.

The Awards also celebrate the wider brewing industry and included awards for Beer Tourism, Sustainability in Brewing, the Packaging Award and the Morton Coutts Award for Innovation, which was won by Simon Ross of Wanaka.

Judging of the 825 entries took place in Christchurch in late July, and Executive Director of the Brewers Guild Melanie Kees said they were thrilled with the number and the quality of entries.

“Considering the challenges the industry has faced over the past few years we were really pleased to receive such a high number of entries. The quality was also improved on from last years competition with the success rate at gaining a medal up 11% from last year, in fact 69% of all entries gained a medal. This is testament to the quality of the beer being brewed, which is of course wonderful to news – for both brewers and consumers.”

Across the 2.5 days of judging 25 stewards, 30 judges and 6 support staff worked together to pour around 400 litres of beer and serve nearly 4000 glasses to the team of judges. NZ Styles and Juicy and Hazy continued to be the largest classes, with Speciality & Experimental and Fruit & Flavoured the next most popular classes, a sure sign that creativity is alive and well in the New Zealand brewing sector.

This year’s celebration was at the Wigram Airforce Museum, where over 300 individuals from across the industry gathered together to celebrate. “It is the first time our industry has been able to celebrate together since 2019, which made the evening even more special,” said Kees.

Chairman of the Brewers Guild of New Zealand, Brian Watson added, “It is always an honour to put these awards together, and to have people from across our entire supply chain together celebrating what we as a collective have achieved, as well of course, the beers, breweries and individuals who receive awards on the night.”

Champion Award Winners

Champion Micro Brewery

Workshop Brewing, Raglan

Champion Small Brewery

Shining Peak Brewing, New Plymouth

Champion Medium Brewery

Behemoth Brewing Company, Auckland

Champion Large Brewery

Garage Project, Wellington

Overall Champion New Zealand Brewing Company

8 Wired Brewing, Warkworth

Champion New Zealand Manufacturer

bStudio, Napier

Champion New Zealand Beer

8 Wired Brewing, Warkworth – Wild Feijoa 2022

Trophy Winners

McLeod’s Brewery

International Lager – Longboarder Lager

Behemoth Brewing Company

New Zealand Styles – Clayton F#$%ing Hops NZIPA

Sprig + Fern Brewing Co

Amber/Dark Lager – Lock Bock Barrel

The Emerson Brewing Company Ltd

British Ale – Emerson’s Old 95

Garage Project Brewery

European Ale – Chance, Luck & Magic 2020


Amber/Dark Ale – Red IPA

Sawmill Brewery

International Pale Ale – Sawmill XPA

Beer Baroness Brewing Company

No & Reduced Alcohol – Little Mighty

Brave Brewing Co

Indian Pale Ale – Terrible Lizards

Behemoth Brewing Company

Juicy/Hazy – Music City Hazy IPA

Burkes Brewing Co

Stout & Porter – Unforgiven Porter

Good George Brewing

Wheat & Other Grain – Good George Hefe Mulligan

8 Wired Brewing

Fruit & Flavoured – Wild Feijoa 2022

Deep Creek Brewing

Specialty & Experimental – Solera

Wilderness Brewing

Wood & Barrel Aged – Russet

Industry Award Winners

Brewing Sustainability Award – Sawmill Brewery

Beer Tourism Award – Rhyme & Reason

Packaging Award – Waitoa Beer

Morton Coutts Award for Innovation – Simon Ross, MicroBrewTech

Scroll to Top