Entries have closed for the 2020 New Zealand Ice Cream Awards and voting begins for the People’s Choice Awards.

The Awards, owned and run by the NZ Ice Cream Manufacturers Association, have been held since 1997 and are in their 23rd year. It is New Zealand’s only national ice cream, gelato, sorbet and dairy-free frozen products competition. The NZ Ice Cream Awards benchmark the best in New Zealand and celebrate the local industry.

New Zealand Ice Cream Awards judging will be held on Saturday 3 and Sunday 4 October at Auckland’s FOODBOWL, while the ever-popular Kids’ Choice Award will be judged by pupils of Auckland Normal Intermediate on Monday 12 October.


The New Zealand Ice Cream Awards judging panel is led by new Chief Judge, Jackie Matthews, who has judged the Awards and is a former President and Vice President of the Association and a long serving member of the Association’s Technical Committee. Jackie has extended this year’s pool of talented judges to include expert food judges, saying their understanding of consumer tastes sits well alongside the focus of technical industry judges.

The 2020 judging panel includes Joanna Boese, Clint Fewtrell, Aaron Pooch, Susan Crowhen, Sandra Murray, John Kelleher, Renny Aprea, Marie Granjonc, Kathy Paterson, Fiona Smith, Ginny Grant, Allyson Gofton, Tamara Rubanowski, Kimberley Dixon, Kerry Tyack, Claire Aldous and Helen Jackson.

A bigger judging panel allows the majority of assessment to be undertaken on one day. A reduced panel of judges will return with fresh palates for a second day to re-taste the highest scoring entries and select 12 Category Champions, the Supreme Champion and Formula Foods Supreme Boutique Champion. 


Kiwi ice cream, gelato and sorbet lovers are being called on to support the local industry by voting in the People’s Choice Awards. New Zealand’s Favourite Ice Cream, Gelato or Sorbet as well as New Zealand’s Favourite Scoop Shop will be chosen by popular public vote. Winners will be announced at the NZ Ice Cream Awards Gala Awards Dinner in Auckland on Wednesday 4 November.

Voting is online at www.nzicecreamawards.co.nz or NZ Ice Cream Lovers Facebook www.facebook.com/NZIceCreamLovers.


NZ Ice Cream Awards Medal Winners will be announced on Tuesday 20 October and Trophy Winners will be named at the NZ Ice Cream Awards at Auckland’s Cordis Hotel on Wednesday 4 November. Tickets are available via eventfinda.co.nz

The Awards Gala Dinner will follow the NZ Ice Cream Manufacturers Association Annual Conference, also held on 4 November at the Cordis Hotel, Auckland.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.