Chris Quin CEO FSNI, and Paul and Liz Blackwell Owners PAK'nSAVE Albany, Store of the Year.

Want to know where the best of the best are found?

Foodstuffs North Island has celebrated some of their very best at the annual Co-Op Awards. The winners show they are stand-out leaders in their field – and drive exceptional loyalty from customers and their teams alike.

Chris Quin, CEO FSNI says: “It’s humbling to get up on stage and applaud the incredible work that our people put in each day to deliver what our customers need. While we are the market-leader in the supermarket business, we can’t rest on our laurels. Every single one of our owner-operators goes all out to do the right thing by their customers – but some are exceptional. These awards recognise the extra effort they put into running 100% New Zealand owned and operated businesses who really get what this country is all about.”

The Awards recognise the best in Produce, Butchery, Bakery, Seafood and Service Deli.  They also look at Safety & Wellbeing, Sustainability and Supplier Relationships. “All stores work all day on these areas – it’s just that some go that extra mile to ensure the avocados are glistening, the focaccia is piping hot, the salmon is fresh and the team is healthy, safe and supported.”

One of the most highly prized awards is the Co-operative Spirit Award, which was awarded to Leo and Kieran O’Sullivan. “The beauty of the Co-op is that no owner or their team goes it alone. Leo and Kieran are legends in our business for putting the Co-op first and this shines through in events like the aftermath of the 2016 November quakes, when they offered unstinting support to Steve and Sarah Williams at New World Hutt City,” says Quin.

The award for best store was given to Paul and Liz Blackwell, PAK’nSAVE Albany. This amazing couple has set the bar high for 20 extraordinary years. They not only enjoy undying loyalty from their customers and team, they also give so much to the Co-op as mentors and to the community.

Check out the list of award winners below.

Award Winner Member
Safety & Wellbeing New World  Matamata Matt and Sheree Hart
Sustainability PAK’nSAVE  Kilbirnie Dean Galt
Store of the year: PAK’nSAVE PAK’nSAVE  Albany Paul Blackwell
Store of the year: New World New World Brookfield Brendon Good
Store of the year: Four Square Four Square Coromandel Damian Langley
Store of the year: Gilmours Gilmours

Mt Roskill

Aaron Kedzlie
Foodstuffs North Island Store of the Year PAK’nSAVE Albany Paul Blackwell
Fresh food department of the year Bakery New World Brookfield Brendon Good
Fresh food department of the year Butchery PAK’nSAVE Silverdale Vinod Bhaga
Fresh food department of the year Produce New World New Plymouth Rob Dowman
Fresh food department of the year Seafood New World


Penny Ashton
Fresh food department of the year Service Deli PAK’nSAVE Tauriko Jon Morrison
Supplier Relationship Award New World Melody’s Kerry Melody
Co-Operative Spirit Award PAK’nSAVE  Petone and PAK’nSAVE  Lower Hutt Leo and Kieran O’Sullivan


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.